ICD-10 Online Training
ICD-10 Online Training

Medsafe ICD-10 Program

Medsafe has invested the time and resources required to make your ICD training experience a success. We have designed custom trainings that accommodate the new ICD-10-CM standards, with a focus on medical specialties. 

MedSafe ICD-10 online training 

MedSafe is proud to offer training on ICD-10 and has adopted a system of “Specialized Training Modules” to better suit the needs of health care professionals who desire (or are required) to train for ICD-10. Due to the complexities and additional documentation requirements of ICD-10, MedSafe has created this series of online training modules for most of the medical specialties. These modules provide an overview of the IDC-10 requirements and best practices. Each module also reviews the top ten to fifteen codes for that specialty and how the ICD-9 code converts to the ICD-10 code(s).

The new code laid down by the ICD-10 variant have its roots in previous versions of the ICD standard; however, there are many changes and localized alterations and additions. Training on ICD-10 is an amazing opportunity for those looking to improve their understanding in medical specialties. Those who wish to gain a deep knowledge of the insights provided by the ICD standard can benefit immensely from the program we have designed. Specialties include: Cardiology, Emergency Medicine, Endocrinology, Family Medicine, General Surgery, GI, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Neuromuscular, OB/GYN, Pathology, Pediatrics, Pulmonary, Urology, ENT, Rheumatology, Hospitalists, Allergy, Behavioral Health, and Psychology.

Preferred ICD learning styles

What is ICD-10? 

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, or, in other words, ICD 10 is the tenth version of a world wide standard in the classification of disease. The ICD standard is upheld by the World Health Organization, which publishes and updates the list regularly and is responsible for the vast majority of the content and information you will encounter when learning about ICD-10.

The fundamental concept behind ICD  is to help those who are employed in the medical industry worldwide to have ready access and a solid understanding of many different points of data related to various diseases and other health issues. It contains codes for diseases, signs and symptoms, special cases and findings, social circumstances, and external causes of injury or diseases, etc.

United States version of ICD-10

This list is composed and distributed by W.H.O. However, most countries that adopt the IDC-10 standard make modifications to accommodate local conditions and national healthcare requirements. This is true of the U.S. as well as many other countries. The U.S. uses a version of this iteration of IDC which is labeled IDC-10-CM and contains alterations from both the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the National Center for Health Statistics.

The current version being used in the U.S. expands the code base of ICD from about 14,000 (ICD-9-CM) to somewhere near 70,000 codes. This has been met with mixed reactions from the medical community, but the general consensus is that the expanded code base gives medical professionals insights into a wide range of medical practices, diagnoses and techniques that are critical to the health of the public.